When I read letters such as this one, I initially feel a sense of scorn at such limited thinking but shortly thereafter my ire begins to blossom. Of course, if I tackled the writer, I have little doubt that his response would be along the lines of, “You shouldn’t take it so seriously, it was tongue in cheek.” This is simply another version of , “I was only joking” from a person who really was not joking.

Ostensibly, in support of polyandry as a response to an article supporting Zuma’s polygamy, it is simply regurgitating the popular truths many men hold. As a frequent member of meetings where I am the solitary female, men forget I am not one of them and spout these sentiments fairly often.

Leave a Reply

